Local News Anchor Tells Her Adoption Story

Why You Should Adopt a Shelter Pet

By: Meg Smith

A Sunday school teacher once tried to tell me that pets don’t go to heaven. Needless to say, we had quite the heated debate in church that day!

I adopted Charlie, a black and tan doxen, almost three years ago at an animal shelter. It was love at first sight. He was chasing a cat outside, turned around and saw me, and ran right towards me. He jumped on my lap and gave me a huge kiss – I knew right then and there, I was going to be his mommy!

He showed up at the shelter with a spiked collar, a little timid because he’d been mistreated. Three years later, everyone he meets is his new best friend.

I’ve received more joy from having Charlie then I can possibly begin to describe. I can come home after a long day, and he greets me with a bundle of energy and as always, a big kiss! He is my true companion, constantly having so much love to give, always wanting to be right by my side.

Shelter pets are so special. Before you decide to buy a pure breed, consider looking at what your local shelter has to offer. 25% of dogs there are pure breeds and they have a variety of them.  I saved Charlie’s life. But deep in my heart, I know that in some small way, there have been times he has saved mine through his unconditional love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local News Anchor Tells Her Adoption Story

  1. Amanda says:

    I LOVED this story the first time I read it in your magazine, Panache. Brings tears to my eyes every time!! So glad that Meg and Charlie found each other!

Leave a Reply

